Skip Navigation
National Institutes of Health Pain Consortium

NIH Pain Consortium Mitchell Max Award for Research Excellence

The NIH Pain Consortium Mitchell Max Award for Research Excellence honors Dr. Mitchell Max, MD (1949 – 2008) for his lifetime contribution to pain research and is awarded annually to the best poster presentation at the NIH Pain Consortium Symposium.


2013 Awardee:

Christine Mrakotsky, Ph.D.   Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School                 
Pain, Executive Functions, and Structural Brain Correlates in Children with and without Chronic Abdominal Pain                 


Past Awardees:


Anthony C. Johnson
Amygdala-mediated mechanisms underlying stress-induced visceral pain


Dayna R. Loyd, PhD
Serotonin enhances proinflammatory peptide release from rat and human trigeminal nociceptors.


Sarah E. Tague, MS
Vitamin D deficiency causes deep tissue mechanical hyperalgesia and muscle nociceptor sprouting.


Kara Ramos, PhD
The GLT-1 up-regulating drug cetriaxone reverses neuropathic pain in rat models of peripheral nerve injury and multiple sclerosis.

Date Last Modified: May 30, 2012
NIH Pain Consortium
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland 20892
National Institutes of Health Department of Health and Human Services Logo - is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.
NIH...Turning Discovery Into Health®